Medical City McKinney
November 08, 2022

McKinney, TX – Medical City McKinney has been designated a Level II Trauma Center by the Texas Department of State Health Services, making it the first hospital in northern Collin County to achieve the distinguished classification. A Level II Trauma designation represents the second-highest level of trauma designation available and reflects Medical City McKinney’s dedication to providing optimal care for severely injured patients.

“Medical City McKinney has been a leader in healthcare in McKinney and the surrounding communities for more than 100 years,” says Ernest C. Lynch, CEO of Medical City McKinney. “Achieving the Level II Trauma designation reinforces our commitment to providing the most comprehensive level of trauma and emergency care to our patients and community.”

The Level II Trauma designation is awarded by the Texas Department of State Health Services and involves an extensive survey process, including verification by the American College of Surgeons. The voluntary process requires a commitment to providing comprehensive regional care for every aspect of injury – from prevention through rehabilitation. Hospitals seeking a Level II Trauma designation must operate at the higher level for one year prior to receiving the advanced verification.

According to the American Trauma Society, a Level II Trauma Center provides:

  • 24-hour immediate coverage by trauma surgeons as well as coverage by the specialties of orthopedic surgery, neurosurgery, anesthesiology, emergency medicine, radiology and critical care
  • Trauma prevention and continuing education programs for staff
  • A comprehensive quality assessment program

Medical City McKinney treats more than 1,200 trauma patients annually, with more than 44,000 emergency room visits each year. The hospital’s trauma team has provided Stop the Bleed training to more than 400 educators and staff from area school districts. The hospital also partners with local senior communities and recreation centers to host a 4-week fall prevention class to help seniors gain strength and learn how to prevent fall injuries.

As a Level II Trauma Center, Medical City McKinney also provides:

  • Dedicated trauma resuscitation rooms in the newly expanded 37-bed emergency department
  • Dedicated trauma rooms available 24/7
  • Dedicated 28-bed, orthopedics/trauma unit
  • 24/7 availability of neurosurgery, orthopedic surgery, trauma surgery, interventional radiology, laboratory services, radiology services and blood bank
  • On-campus inpatient rehabilitation unit

In addition to being a Level II Trauma Center, Medical City McKinney is a Primary Stroke Center, certified by The Joint Commission for total hip and total knee replacement, hip fracture, stroke rehabilitation and chest pain, and is Magnet® recognized for nursing excellence.

Medical City Healthcare has a long history of investing in the North Texas community to effect positive change, including advancing emergency and trauma care when and where the community needs it, close to home. Medical City Arlington and Medical City Denton are also Level II Trauma Centers. Medical City Plano is a Level I Trauma Center. Together, the Medical City Healthcare network of hospitals, surgery centers, off-campus emergency rooms and CareNow urgent care locations are unified in elevating the standard of care for all patients.

Text on image available in body content

Text from Trauma Certificate

Texas Health and Human Services | Texas Department of State Health Services

Certificate of Designation hereby awarded to Medical City McKinney as a Major (Level II) Trauma Facility

Medical City McKinney meets the standards of care relating to the treatment of trauma in Texas, actively advocates for trauma system development and works to improve the availability and quality of trauma care as an active member of North Central Texas Trauma Regional Advisory Council.


Jorie Klein, MSN, MHA, BSN, RN

Timothy Stevenson, DVM, PhD